My University Experience so far #BlogsWithCC

Introduction

Hey there👋, I'm Pratik Bhagat, currently a sophomore at SVKM's, IOT, Dhule in Computer Science and in this blog post I will be sharing my university so far.

Before joining college

As it was lockdown in 2020 the admission process was delayed and I had all the free time in the world so I started learning some programming before I even started attending university.

Not that I understood anything 😂 dumb.png

Currently, I am preparing for the finals of the second year which will start on the 12th of August

okay-lets.gif

First Year

The first year was completely online because of the lockdown and it was very frustrating as I had pretty high hopes about joining the university. I blame youtube and "day in a life" videos for getting me excited about going to university.

nelson-its-a-scam.gif

I expected that all subjects will be related to programming because I was in computer science but hey don't blame for that but the reality was completely different. During the first two semesters, I had only one programming course on C programming and I had to study Physics, Chemistry, Mechanics, Graphics and whatnot. At this point I was wondering is this computer science?

compunter.webp

Soon I realised that online classes are a blessing in disguise. As I had a lot of time to learn programming which I utilised well. I took some freecodecamp courses on web development and by the end of the first year I was comfortable with Javascript and knew some React.js

Second year

This is where things start to get a little serious with offline college starting and I was worried about my future as well. I decided to start my interview preparation in panic mode and while learning DSA I didn't understand a thing and I focused more on the development side learning full stack development.

Also, I had to give an interview to become a part of my college community which was not technical at all but rather focused on soft skills. Professors were really impressed by me as I did good in interviews and as part of the community, I along with my friends have hosted workshops on GitHub and React.js

At this point, I was confident about my skills and could say that I was a developer.

download.jpg

Soon Kunal kushwaha announced his Java + DSA Bootcamp and I was really excited about that. I was ready to give DSA another go and trust me his videos are so good I was hooked. I enjoyed learning data structures for the first time all thanks to him.

Smart India Hackathon 2022

Smart India Hackathon is a nationwide initiative to provide students with a platform to solve some of the pressing problems we face in our daily lives, and thus inculcate a culture of product innovation and a mindset of problem-solving.

During the start of the fourth semester, I was introduced to SIH 2022 as our college announced internal hackathons to qualify for SIH 2022.

With the help of our motivating mentor, I along with my talented team participated in SIH 2022 and submitted our proposal.

We are selected for the finals of SIH 2022, the only team from our university to do so.

The finals of the SIH are on the 25-26th of August wish us luck for that :)

BUT here's a problem I have exams and SIH finals on the same dates

hackathon.jpg

Missing the hackathon?? HELL NAH we will be attending the finals and giving our best presentation ever. These opportunities don't come often.

Outro

As you guys have seen, it has been a rollercoaster so far. From not knowing anything about coding to a full-stack developer hosting workshops, and participating in hackathons.

Looking forward to having a great experience at the SIH finale and smashing my exams during the same period.

Feel free to connect with me: bio.link/bhagatpratik07

bow-bowing.gif